c) Alternative Aotearoa

Final Programme

A one-day seminar to provide solutions for the environmental, social and economic transformation of Aotearoa .

8. 30am Mihi Whakatau

Co-chairs for the day:

Julia Whaipooti – Justice Advocate

Jennifer Te Atamira Ward-Lealand – 2020 New Zealander of the Year and President of Equity New Zealand

8. 30am Mihi WhakatauEugene Ryder

9am Keynote speakers (20 minutes each with time for questions)

                Laura O'Connell Rapira – Director of Action Station

                Efeso Collins – Pasifika community activist and Auckland City Councillor

10am Health Solutions (10 minutes each speaker)

                Teresa Wall – former deputy director-general of health

                Dr Jude Ball – Public Health Association

                Phil Bagshaw – Christchurch Charity Hospital

                Jane Stevens – mental health services advocate

                Ian Powell – former Executive Director of Assn of Salaried Medical Specialists

11am Workers’ Solutions (10 minutes each speaker)

                Tina Barnett – Former Chair Skycity Employees Association

                Yvette Taylor – Campaign Team leader E tū Union

             Mike Treen – Director of Unite Union

             Anu Kaloti – Migrant Workers Association

12noon Lunch (A vegan lunch will be provided – a koha would be appreciated)

12.30pm Youth Solutions (10 minutes each organisation)

                Oli Morphew and Tara Watkins – School strike for Climate

                Kalo Afeaki – Pacific Climate Warriors

                Tiana Jakicevich – Te Ara Whatu

1.30pm Environmental Solutions (8 minutes each organisation)

                Amanda Larsson – Greenpeace

                Dr Mike Joy – Better Futures Forum

                Eleanor West – Generation Zero

                Haimana Hirini and Cally O’Neill – Extinction Rebellion Te Whanganui a Tara

                Kevin Hague – Forest & Bird

                Aaron Packard and Marcus Newton-Howes – 350 Aotearoa

2.30pm Social Solutions (8 minutes each speaker)

                Frank Hogan – Child Poverty Action Group

                Kassie Hartendorp – Action Station

                Liz Gordon – Quality Public Education Coalition

                Dani Pickering – People Against Prisons Aotearoa

                Brooke Fiafia – Auckland Action Against Poverty

                Michael Sharp – State Housing Action Network

                Anjum Rahman – Inclusive Aotearoa Collective Tāhono

4pm Afternoon tea

4.30pm Economic Solutions (10 minutes each speaker)

                   Tania Pouwhare – Social Intrapreneur at Auckland Council

                   Geoff Bertram – Economist with Victoria University

                   Susan St John – Economist with Child Poverty Action Group

5.30pm Summary of the dayPresentation of the solutions for the environmental, social and economic transformation of Aotearoa

                   Tamatha Paul – Wellington City Councillor

                   Jane Kelsey – Law Professor University of Auckland  

6pm Finish

The seminar will be live streamed in several places – one of these is on the Daily Blog website at https://thedailyblog.co.nz/  

All presentations etc.will be able to be found on the following site later next week: chchpn.blogspot.com